Thread: Does this mean I suck?

Forum Member

Does this mean I suck?

I have been playing for 5 years and still cant make bar chords. I cant play one without buzz one the frets. I have tried dvds but none addres this problem. Also, I took lessons but the teacher insisted on treating me like I was an absolute beginnger just picking up the guitar for the first time. It was frustrating so I quit. I cant play some songs because of it and I am tired of it!!!!!!! There has to be a trick or someting I am not doing right. Suggestions, comments or input or even help is appreciated. One more thing I have smal hands or so I think could that be it?

Re: Does this mean I suck?

Your teacher's attitude may have been overly condescending, but sometimes going back to basics helps a lot.

I assume you're playing on a Strat? What size strings are you using? How is your action set up?

You may need lighter strings. You may need to lower your action. You may just need to practice more! Barre chords are usually just one of those things that come together with practice as your hand gets stronger, without much conscious effort.
    "Don't bring me down, grrooosss!" - ELO

Only 5 years?!?! Hell, it took me a lot longer than that to play barre chord.

Seriously, you might want to look at you guitar's setup, especially the way that the frets are dressed. I find that a narrow, rounded crown frets cleaner than a wide flat crown.
    I'd also try different string gages and brands of strings.

Barre chords never sound as sharp as open chords. Maybe you're being to critical?

Most important, don't give up. 5 years is not a long time to be playing guitar.
    It really did take me a very long time to play barre chords cleanly.

Practice your barre chords, but make sure that your practice time also includes songs that you can play well and enjoy playing.

i 'm a beginner and if you are reporting buzz on barr chords i would check:

if all the hardware setup, then check you technique: