Thread: 22 vs 21 fret necks

Forum Member

22 vs 21 fret necks

Any reasons why you would want to have a 21 fret neck over a 22 fret neck except for the vintage look?

The difference between a 24 and 22 fret neck is quite substantial if you look at PRS and GIbson but just wondering if you lose or gain anything by having one or the other on a strat except vintage looks and a semi tone!!

Re: 22 vs 21 fret necks

it seems to me that you are just loosing a half step. i have yet to ever really need that extra fret. 21 works great for me. but it doesn't really matter to me anyways.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

Doesn't matter to me either, though I don't care for 24 fret necks because the neck pickup needs to move to a less desirable position to accomodate the extra frets that I'd never use anyway.

Forum Member

I can live without the 22nd fret on a Strat - I look at it this way - it's not a limitation, it's an opportunity to do something more interesting.

On a strat, I prefer 21 frets cause it's easier to take the pickguard off without the overhang.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by ManiacalMetalist
    On a strat, I prefer 21 frets cause it's easier to take the pickguard off without the overhang.
    Does make surgery a little harder, huh? Even so, I still HAVE to have that high D.

I don't care for 24 fret necks because the neck pickup needs to move to a less desirable position to accomodate the extra frets.
    Amen, brother. I mean I wish I COULD have those extra 2 frets, but not at the price of a crappy-sounding neck pu.

Formerly joe mama

Yeah the pickguard thing is a good point. That can be a pain with a 22 fretter. That's really the only downside.