Thread: Newbie Help, Facts on old Walnut Fender Bass

Forum Member

Newbie Help, Facts on old Walnut Fender Bass

Hi!

Total newbie, so please excuse me if something about this post is incorrect.

I found 1981 (thats what it was labeled as anyway), solid walnut Fender Precision bass for $699. The headstock said "Fender Precision Bass Special". I believe its serial number started with "CD", then about 5 numbers. It had all gold hardware, a shiny gold pickguard (not anodized), an EMG active pickup. I believe the neck was one piece too (!!!). Made in the USA. Oh yeah, it had a gold Badass bridge that looked original.

Can you guys tell me anything about this model? Is it a good deal? It felt great, but was set up poorly. Please write back as soon as you can, Im afraid itll sell. I cant find any info online, or in the completed items section of Ebay.

THANK YOU.

moonweasel

According to page 77 of the "Fender Bass" book that thing looks like the cat's pajamas. Scoop it up. Or tell me where it is!!
    *Recipient of the 2006 Time Magazine "Man Of The Year" Award*

Some people are like Slinkies . . . not really good for anything, but you
    still can’t help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs.

Forum Member
    I have a 1982 walnut p-bass. Mine is 100% original and I got mine for 6 bills. I got mine much cheaper than tagged due to good customer status. I was told 200 "82" basses were made. Mine has a black pickguard /with gold hardware. And by the way your bass is also an "82" acording to MR Gearhead. The sale price is a good one, I would snatch it up even if it is not original.
    Last edited by pyrohr; 04-08-2004 at 05:40 PM.

Forum Member