Thread: How do yo know if you're ready to join a band?

Forum Member

How do yo know if you're ready to join a band?

I REALLY want to join a band. Here's the trouble, though. I've only been playing the guitar for about 10 months. I have 11 years of musical experience on the piano, so it's been an easy transition for me. I can pick up pretty much any rhythm part fairly easily. I'm venturing off into soloing (or my impression of it, at least), and can solo to songs such as "Purple Haze", "Good Times, Bad Times", "We Won't be Fooled Again", and "Roadrunner" (by Hendrix, Zeppelin, the Who, and the Who's cover of it, respectively). Part of me says "you're not ready!!", while another part of me says, "You can at least start out at rhythm, and hey, the best way to get better is to join a band and start jamming."

What should I do?

Also, how do you go about joining a band?

I've REALLY got the itch!

Now I just need a gigging amp...
    Last edited by dafack01; 03-03-2004 at 07:52 PM.

Old Tele man
    re: "How do yo know if you're ready to join a band?"

Answer: when you're better than the guy in the band...

Forum Member
    Originally posted by Old Tele man
    re: "How do yo know if you're ready to join a band?"

Answer: when you're better than the guy in the band...
    :lolspin

Seriously, though. What I want to do is at least jam with other guitarists that I know. I really won't be able to jam with a full band until about mid summer when I build my Frankentweed amp. I figure that I can get accoustomed to playing with other guitarists until then and maybe even pick up some things and start playing in full bands maybe by late summer.

Whaddaya think?
    Last edited by dafack01; 03-03-2004 at 08:27 PM.

Duluth, MN. Birthplace of Bobby Zimmerman