Thread: Headphone Recommendation?

Headphone Recommendation?

Can anyone suggest good headphones for studio use or late night playing through a Tech 21 modeling amp or POD?

I am looking for good sound reproduction. So far I have been recommended AKG K-240, Sennheiser HD-280, Fostex T-40 or T-50. Any comments on these models would be appreciated. Thanks.

TFF Stage Crew
    Try this site;

http://www.headphone.com/

I've been using my trusty K240DFs for the last 15 years and couldn't want for more...pricey but worth it.

J.R.
    I feel much more like I do now than I did when I got here.

I use Audio Technica AHA40fs studio reference headphones myself. They are not that expensive, avour $70.00.

They work very well.
    The Best Guitar Photos On The Net!
    Photoweborama

fezz parka
    I use Fostex T20's. They sound good and don't hurt my head when I wear 'em for hours at a time.

i use sony mdr-v700's. they cost about $110. but i use them when i mix live, in the studio, and just at home listening to cd's.

i had used the akg 240's before that, but i never really liked them. the sennheisers are pretty nice. don't know about the fostex.

i like the sony's cause they're comfortable, they sound great, and are ruggedly built. some people say they are too heavy, but i don't care or mind cause they feel like i could drop them off a roof and they wouldn't break.

any of those headphones are fine, the real trick is learning the way your headphones respond. it sounds dumb but you have to listen to each set. take a cd that you know really well (tone wise) and listen to that in the headphone department. don't listen to the floor music they always play. then you will know which headphones give the most accurate recreation of the cd. and this is all about your ears, cause what is too bright for some, might be just right for others.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

Forum Member