Thread: How should I handle this?

Forum Member

How should I handle this?

I've been playing in a in acoustic duo for the last three years. We're making a few bucks and having a lot of fun. Last summer we added a bass player. Since then we have been slowly moving away from the coffeehouse circuit and into the retaurant/lounge scene. In the coffeehouses and the restaurants, it's O.K. for us to do lots of slow, introspective stuff, and sit on stools. I think that as we get into a more high energy situation it would behoove us to lose the stools. We are also rehearsing a drummer and using electric on some selections wouldn't hurt either. I suggested that we do without the stools and as we add to the repertoire, concentrate more on uptempo dance material. So what tunes are on our "to learn" list? Three of James Taylor's.
    I know we have the harmonies down. I'm pretty sure that we're good enough and surprisingly heavy for an acoustic band.
    I am however a little apprehensive of booking us into a room where the laid back image, mellow sound and stools will kill us before the middle of the first set.
    Should I insist on a change, should I book a throwaway gig to see what happens or should I let these guys figure it out for themselves?

TFF Stage Crew

The next "Barenaked Ladies"

It might be a big bite, but maybe work up two shows: the coffee shop show & the club show. Some tunes would have a different arrangement, & some would be exclusive to the particular gig.

Forum Member
    It's a question of the presentation that "they" are WILLING to give. It's much easier to do the laid back thing. I don't think they realize how different a presentation will be needed in a "dance and drink" type of venue.

I'm sure I'm not telling you anything you don't already know.....

I'd lose the stools if you're going to play more 'club' style venues versus the coffeehouse-types.