Thread: So, If I Wanted to Learn to Read Music...

So, If I Wanted to Learn to Read Music...

bass clef music....how would you recommend I start?

I can't read tab, but I do make my own shorthand charts on blank sheet music. I've been playing bass for 33 years.

But, if I decided to learn to read music, what are your recommendations for a starting point?
    Ayatollah of Dumbassollah

facebook: Stephen Doc Watson

Forum Member
    He used to cut the grass...But now his mind is totally destroyed by music.
    Well, just start!

On the bass clef; (from bottom to top)
    The lines are - Great Big Dogs Fight Animals
    The spaces are - All Cars Eat Gas

The bass clef is also called the F clef, because the two dots straddle the F line.

The low E string is the first ledger line below the clef, the a string is the bottom space, the D string is the middle line, the G string is the top space.

Like a Double Bass, you will actually be playing notes an octave lower than what is written, because that many ledger lines would be nearly impossible to read.

Oh, ok.

Well, I got it then.:nelson

Forum Member
    Originally posted by doc540
    Oh, ok.
    Whut?! Did I make it too hard?

I usually charge $40 an hour to tell people this stuff..... just send a check for $3.14

It was a whole lot easier than I thought it would be. Thanks Sven.

Can I officially call myself a musician now?
    Last edited by walshb; 01-19-2004 at 09:53 PM.
    So much talk about the USB port, what state is it in?

hey doc,