Thread: New Band's FIRST GIG

Forum Member

New Band's FIRST GIG

I don't even know if we're REALLY ready, but we're playing New Year's Eve at The Ranch in Hayward, Ca.

Two-set gig, I'm just hoping my voice will be back in time to do my share of the vocals.

If you're in the Bay Area and you're not busy, come on out!

WooHOO!

Forum Member music-n-motorcycle's Avatar
    Right on man. See you Tomorrow.
    4:20, my favorite time of day.

PBRADT

HEY BRO CONGRATS NEWYRS GIGS ARE FUN SO ENJOY AND BE MERRY

GOD BLESS

BLUELOU
    SINCERELY
    BLUELOU
    GODBLESS

wis i could, but i'm mixing a show that night. good luck man!
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

New bands are so much fun while the honeymoon is still on. Have a blast!
    A friend in need is a good reason to screen your calls.

pbradt- So how did your gig in Hayward go last night?

Forum Member
    Originally posted by Gtrplyr
    pbradt- So how did your gig in Hayward go last night?
    Pretty well. I was rough for the first three or four songs, combination of nerves, adrenalin, etc., but as the set went on, I calmed down. I was surprised at the lack of volume complaints.

Second set was the midnight set and it was a total blast. We did a song that T. Graham Brown has on his latest record called "Use the Blues" and it finally got folks up dancing and carrying on.

When midnight rolled around, we played "Auld Lang Syne" and the folks sang along, but what surprised them was when we broke into a shuffle and played it as a boogie.

They dug it though, and danced. it kind of became "The Stumble" by the end, with me mentally transposing from E to A.

All in all, a good gig, and while I'm a wreck today, I have today to recover and we leave for the Delbert Cruise on the 7th (a few days with family, during which I will be working remote from Florida).

We have a return engagement on Valentine's day.

Glad to hear it went well!