Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1969 Fender Bandmaster Reverb On The Bench:

TFF Stage Crew

1969 Fender Bandmaster Reverb On The Bench:

Ok, so my tablesaw is my "bench" right now. But here is my new project:

Here's the full album. I'm new to flickr, so let me know if there are problems with this link:
    https://flic.kr/s/aHBqjAKr8a

TFF Stage Crew

Re: 1969 Fender Bandmaster Reverb On The Bench:

Some notes:
    Before I started working on this one, I played it through 2x10s @ 4 Ohms & it sounds strong & punchy.
    It's hard to see in the photos, but the chassis around the power tubes is lightly "toasted". That makes me think it was either running the wrong impedance or the bias was/is off.
    As seen in the photots, I have already replaced the 2 prong power cord w/a 3 pronger, switched out the bright switch caps, & bypassed the polarity switch. YouTuber Uncle Doug has videos detailing the conversion of the polarity switch to a negative feedback loop, but that's a little out of my depth

Ten miles from the Mexican Frontier, in Arizona

While it's possible that the idle bias is/was incorrectly set or the amp was regularly pushing a mismatched load, that ever-so-slight discoloration around the power-tube sockets isn't necessarily indicative of a developing issue. Inspect the sockets for any evidence of thermal damage then measure the screen-grid resistors for excessive value drift -- if everything appears copacetic, proceed with the bench check.
    "When injustice becomes law then rebellion becomes duty."

Quote Originally Posted by Cogs View Post
    Ok, so my tablesaw is my "bench" right now. But here is my new project:
    Here's the full album. I'm new to flickr, so let me know if there are problems with this link:
    https://flic.kr/s/aHBqjAKr8a