Thread: Dealing With the House Sound System

Dealing With the House Sound System

I'm a relative newbie to live performing, so I'm still winding my way through the ins and outs of getting on stage.

When I'm practicing at home (I'm a solo player), I usually sit on my comfy sofa, and I mostly play unplugged. Sometimes I use an amp, but my focus is generally on technique, making sure I have the chords, leads and singing in tune with the music.

But it all changes when I take the stage. For example, last night I played at a small venue (seats about 60) which has its own in-house sound system. A very nice stage manager handles the mics, cables, stands, seats, etc. So, because I play seated at home, I chose a stool, and then plugged in. Youch! My guitar was set too high, so I had to tone it down. OK, no problem, and quickly set to volume and tone I liked. Then I started. About two choruses into my first song, I realized I couldn't hear myself! Yes, I was singing into a microphone, but there was no on-stage monitor, and I actually couldn't hear the words I was singing. Worse, I couldn't tell whether I was singing in tune or not.

Given time constraints, I couldn't stop and ask the sound guy to work with me, so I muddled through my set, all the time knowing that I was likely missing notes (I'm not a trained vocalist!).

Forewarned is forearmed. The next time I go, how do work with the sound guy before I'm given the "go" signal?
    Striving to be ordinary

Proud to be a TFF Dumbass!

Forum Member

Re: Dealing With the House Sound System

Are you playing on stage solo? I assume the stage manager is working for the house so can you go early and do a sound check? Is that correct? As far as playing and hearing yourself, consider using an In Ear Monitor or floor monitor speakers. Floor monitors are also called fold back speakers and wedges.

point of reason between tacky and tasteless

Lots of questions. What is the monitoring system? That may lead to a deluge of others.