Thread: How Do You Feel about Bassists.

How Do You Feel about Bassists.

When I was 20 and playing in a band, my bandmates spat on my request to play some songs on guitar. One said, I never met a bassist who just put more time into learning bass. They were right. After a few decades of playing guitar, I lost none of my love for guitar, but bass is my obsession again. The folks I’ve played with have been pleased with my talents.

I used to see bassists as inferior to guitarists—until I realized that there is no such thing as an inferior instrument—as long as you learn to play properly.

As a guitarist, I played with only one great bassist. The others had no clue about playing their instruments—outside of the pentatonic. . As a bassist, I do my job.

what is your experience with bassists?
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

Ten miles from the Mexican Frontier, in Arizona

Re: How Do You Feel about Bassists.

Bass and percussion are like the foundation of a house.

Without them, music is just tinny, unsyncopated noise.
    "When injustice becomes law then rebellion becomes duty."

Quote Originally Posted by phantomman View Post
    Bass and percussion are like the foundation of a house.

Without them, music is just tinny, unsyncopated noise.
    Its a different part of the music, a different cadence, language feel.

I would likely have to respond to someone who said "a lesser guitarist", in my best and most respectful demener......Blow Me.
    Kenny Belmont
    >:^{I)>

TFF Stage Crew

In my experience, the average bass player is far more talented than the average guitar player.
    That being said, I'd like to relay a story I heard a long time ago: