Thread: How is a Fender 2x12 cabinet packed?

Forum Member

How is a Fender 2x12 cabinet packed?

I'm new to TFF - glad to be here!!!

I'm building a 2x12 cabinet that is a replica of the late 1960s Fender extension cab, used by Showman, Bassman, etc.
    I have built the box, and I have the speakers, and I'm getting ready for final assembly.

If you know very specifically what else goes inside, I"d love to find out! For example, 1) is there a board that gets positioned in the middle to separate the speakers?
    2) Is there any fiber fill to put in? Did Fender do that in the late 1960s?

In essence, I'd like to build it exactly how it was done back then. I don't want to use current practices to enhance the sound in any way.

Could you let me know if you know exactly how the inside of the box was prepared?

I'd be grateful - Corey

Ten miles from the Mexican Frontier, in Arizona

Re: How is a Fender 2x12 cabinet packed?