Thread: HOW TO KNOW IF THIS GUITAR IS LEGIT?

Forum Member

HOW TO KNOW IF THIS GUITAR IS LEGIT?

Hello everybody, this is my first post on this forum and I'm a rookie at playing guitar, so I'm sorry if I sound a bit stupid. I just saw this guitar and it has Custom Shop logos on it's headstock etc. It looks pretty cool but it's price is the same with the used Mexican Strat's in my country so I'm worried that it is fake (somehow). How can I know if this is a legit good guitar or not, what are the things I should consider while buying this? (The seller says that it was made by an important luthier.) Pics are from my country's eBay-like site. Thanks in advance everybody!

Re: HOW TO KNOW IF THIS GUITAR IS LEGIT?

Welcome to the forum! More experienced hands will have their input, sites and recommendations, but one thing you said stood out. That the guitar was made by an "important luthier" suggests that it's a Partscaster. The general advice I hear is that you can get a better idea by taking the neck off and looking at the serial number in the neck pocket. It should match the serial number on the headstock (which you didn't show). There are several serial number lookup sites where you can then check.

So here's my take: If the guitar plays as well as you like, and you like the look and feel, and the cost is within reason, I see no reason to NOT purchase it. Spoken as one who owns quite a few guitars, it's rare that guitars are "collector's items," so you might just get a guitar that plays the way you want it.
    Striving to be ordinary

Proud to be a TFF Dumbass!

I’m sorry, my friend, but it doesn’t look ok to me. Black (probably plastic) truss rod plug, wrong logo, wrong contours, wrong 11 screw pick guard, parallel middle screws in the spring cavity plate... even the switch tip looks fishy, and that’s what I can spot just by looking at this pic.