Thread: Egad! It's the Sunday Thread for August 16, 2020

Egad! It's the Sunday Thread for August 16, 2020

It seems like just a week since I posted a Sunday thread!

A lot of rain this week, limiting the amount of outdoors time, but I did manage to get in some bicycle time. I live in the suburbs, so I'm on a quest to mentally map the entire neighborhood. I'm nearly there.

Started adding another song to my repertoire. This time it's Little Feat's "Voices On The Wind," a song from their Craig Fuller days, and one I've liked since it first came out. As with other Little Feat songs I've worked on, there's a lot of subtlety and complexity that isn't apparent on first listen. I'm finding what hampers my learning is my gawdawful vocals. Good thing I'm not a performing musician, I'd have all the cats in the neighborhood yowling.

Gearing up for another week of teaching. Back to one week a month, which is more manageable than every week! I hope everyone has had a good week and has a better week ahead.
    Striving to be ordinary

Proud to be a TFF Dumbass!

Re: Egad! It's the Sunday Thread for August 16, 2020

I got up early, had Rutles Tea with my coffee, and listened to Earl Hines, Spike Jones, Hoagy Carmichael, and George Formby. I love jazz best from Duke, Gershwin, Earl Hines, Ella, Louis, and Django and the like. I listen to more modern jazz, but I could never connect with fusion.

Like all of us, I go through phases with music. I listen to and love great guitar playing, but I'm less interested in playing guitar hero than in using the guitar in an arrangement with instruments that are sometimes more prominent--in order to serve the song.

If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

Rain predicted here today - we need it bad. I'm going to meet a cousin from my new family today. My (new) brother and his family are going to meet me there and we'll all do a barbecue.