Thread: 1964 BF Tremolux With Mods - Anyone know what they are for?

Forum Member

1964 BF Tremolux With Mods - Anyone know what they are for?

Salutations everyone.

I inherited a 64 BF Tremolux and it was missing the back cover and the vibrato bright switch, looks a little rough but works great.

After I ordered a new back cover and with the chassis out, I installed a new bright switch, I looked at other Tremolux Amps online and discovered this amp has some radical mods.

Can you guys comment about this amp? I am not a pro musician, so I would like to know if someone was out of their mind here.

Re: 1964 BF Tremolux With Mods - Anyone know what they are for?

Quote Originally Posted by Garity View Post
    Salutations everyone.

I inherited a 64 BF Tremolux and it was missing the back cover and the vibrato bright switch, looks a little rough but works great.

After I ordered a new back cover and with the chassis out, I installed a new bright switch, I looked at other Tremolux Amps online and discovered this amp has some radical mods.

Can you guys comment about this amp? I am not a pro musician, so I would like to know if someone was out of their mind here.

My spatial orientation is screwed up. More detailed pictures might help in terms of mods.
    Last edited by vinyl; 08-13-2020 at 08:53 AM.

Forum Member

Maybe these will help. I can understand the power transformer needing to be beefed up for additional tubes, but there are no markings on it. Maybe someone recognizes it as being such and such.

1965 Tremolux chassis

My 1964 Tremolux chassis with mods

good gravy. I'm inclined to think some mad scientist who was thrown out of amplifier university concocted his revenge on that poor tremolux. I have no idea what's what in that rat nest of wiring and what did they do to the rectifier tube?

welcome to the forum and what an entrance !!
    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

Forum Member