Thread: The watch thread

The watch thread

are you into wristwatches? Or pocket watches, for what it's worth.

I’ve always been a Casio man. Since before G-Shocks first appeared. My old man was a skilled woodsman, hunter and diver, and he’d always wear Casios. Of course, not from the beginning but when I was born, back in the 70s, I’d inherit his nearly-dead Casios everytime he had to get a new one. I loved those well worn real deal watches.

Still wear Casios to this day, my main daily dressers being the G-Shocks, as I’m sort of an adventurer.

Three things I never leave home without: my Casio DW-5600 (the older ones got lost or overworn), my Zippo lighter and my Victorinox Swisschamp.

I even wear it to work (I'm a lawyer):

Since I do a lot of hiking and trekking when I ain’t gigging with my guitars, I just got myself a Master of G Mudman, which I’ll post as soon as it gets here. It has a compass and the Tough Solar power feature, which is definitely an improvement...

Yes, I’m old schooled and practical regarding watches, having owned a Rolex Submariner once and having sold it due to not understanding having so much cash into a wristwatch, when my casios can withstand the apocalypse and still stand for a fraction of the price.

Re: The watch thread

lordy, I haven't worn a watch since about 1976 and i still have a slightly bald patch on my left arm. Only in very recent years has it nearly gone away.
    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

I wore a watch until the mid 90s. Nice ones, but not Rolex nice by a longshot. Once cell phones got "smarter', I no longer wore a watch. my son still does at times. Had a pocket watch too that I wore at my job as head teller at a bank in the mid 80s.
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison