Thread: Looking for opinions on a vintage Pro Reverb purchase

Forum Member

Looking for opinions on a vintage Pro Reverb purchase

I'm in the market for a vintage Pro Reverb. There are two available locally (a 66' blackface and a 72' silverface). I'll use this at home primarily and then play out with it once clubs start to open up again. I like the low-ish wattage of these and I hear they break up nicely (I'm playing a Gibson junior reissue with p90s and mostly playing rocknroll like Social Distortion). I'm new to these amps and buying vintage in general so any help would be appreciated in figuring out whats the best deal. Here are the posts of the two amps... FYI I havent heard either one in-person yet...

#1: 1966 Fender Pro Reverb - $2000
    All Original. Exc Cond. Casters. Foot switch. sounds great
    I called the guy and he's had it for 10 years. Never had it serviced and it still had the two prong cord. Its at the top of my budget but he said he'll negotiate a bit.

https://sfbay.craigslist.org/pen/msg...152055116.html

#2: 1972 Fender Pro Reverb - $1100
    Excellent condition 1972 vintage Fender silverface Pro Reverb 2x12 guitar combo amp. Handwired, All Tube, Original (no mods. Includes original speakers). Newly Serviced. New Tubes.
    Early silverface non-master volume version (sounds similar to blackface). Comes with slipcover, original foot switch, and casters. Sounds amazing!
    https://sfbay.craigslist.org/scz/msg...157466928.html

Thanks for the help!

Re: Looking for opinions on a vintage Pro Reverb purchase

I'd grab that silverface in a heartbeat.
    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

Forum Member

Re: Looking for opinions on a vintage Pro Reverb purchase