Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Logic Pro Hacks

  1. #1
    Forum Member ch willie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6,376

    Logic Pro Hacks

    I know there is plenty of information on youtube, must be a lot of sites dedicated to Logic tricks.

    I'm starting to use Logic now, and I know a lot of you have substantial information.

    Perhaps you guys could post little tricks--not really looking for a repeat of their user's manual. I'm more interested in the specific things you're recording and any Logic tips you might have to offer from your actual recordings.

    Just a thought!
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

  2. #2
    Forum Member Don's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    10,563

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    Years ago, I took free Garageband classes at GC. Do they have something like that for Logic Pro?

  3. #3
    Forum Member dirtdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Deep North
    Posts
    1,988

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    Hard to convey that in a post here. My Logic skills took a quantum leap after watching Jono Buchanan’s Logic Masterclass on YouTube. Two lengthy videos but well worth the effort. I can’t post a link at the moment but search YouTube for Logic Masterclass Guildhall.

  4. #4
    Forum Member dirtdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Deep North
    Posts
    1,988

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    But one of the things I picked up was putting processing on parallel aux channels rather than loading up FX and VSTs on a particular channel. Not sure if it increases or decreases processing loads but was definitely easier to tweak when mixing. There was a Sound On Sound article that documented that. I’ll send along a link when I’m back on Wifi.

  5. #5
    Forum Member dirtdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Deep North
    Posts
    1,988

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    Here's some links to the stuff I mentioned above

    Logic Pro Masterclass Part 1.

    https://youtu.be/sqm8Q3jlNVI

    Logic Pro Masterclass Part 2.

    https://youtu.be/gZfA4c6GCwM

    Sound on Sound article - the aux buss/parallel processing stuff is addressed in the Lead Vocal Treatment section. Not Logic specific, but you can apply the principles in the same way.

    https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques/stage-studio

  6. #6
    Forum Member ch willie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6,376

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    Thanks, Dirtdog, I'll check that out.

    I don't mean instruction as much as the different features or items you have used on a track or are using.

    I don't know if I'm articulating this correctly. It's 96 degrees here, and I think my frontal lobes are broiling....
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

  7. #7
    Forum Member DanTheBluesMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    after much fumbling around, I seem to have stumbled upon a process which works for me.

    I assume the first two busses are being used for the output so I skip them. I could be wrong but I'm not taking any chances. I open a new track (note in my images it says "input 2", that's because the input 1 on my audio interface is lunched. I think it either got toasted or more likely the contacts are corroded from being plugged into 24/7. I now unplug all my cables when I finish a session. At some point I have a contact srubber plug that I hope will remedy that input's conundrum.) Let's just pretend it's "Input 1" on your AI

    For output, I go to "Bus 3" and hit "create"

    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

  8. #8
    Forum Member DanTheBluesMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    that gives you this screen

    Last edited by DanTheBluesMan; 07-16-2020 at 09:55 PM.
    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

  9. #9
    Forum Member DanTheBluesMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    next, I click on the sliders icon

    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

  10. #10
    Forum Member DanTheBluesMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    that gets me this screen

    Last edited by DanTheBluesMan; 07-16-2020 at 10:15 PM.
    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

  11. #11
    Forum Member DanTheBluesMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    then I click on the box above the slider for the aux channel and highlight it

    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

  12. #12
    Forum Member DanTheBluesMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    enter "-3" in this box

    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

  13. #13
    Forum Member DanTheBluesMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    now the output from the audio track 1 is attenuated 3db going to the stereo output. when I recorded a bunch of audio tracks, I was having to play around with the sliders to keep my stereo output from getting overloaded. When I send my audio track to an aux channel and attenuate it 3 db right off the bat, I can stack up a slew of audio tracks and not over load my stereo out and I don't have to futz around with the sliders nearly as much, if at all.

    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

  14. #14
    Forum Member DanTheBluesMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    screen shot of a recent session I did



    I put down two tracks with one guitar, switched to another guitar. The first track with that guitar was a little hotter than I wanted, I forgot to reset the input gain on the audio interface, I corrected that with the fourth track. Having the aux channels down -3 really helped keep the levels under control. I didn't even need to use compression or limiting.
    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

  15. #15
    Forum Member DanTheBluesMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    by the way, i sub grouped the four guitar tracks into an aux channel, put a hi pass EQ on it to make room for the bass track I'm going to add. With all the guitars on one fader I can balance the guitars and bass much more easily. I hope

    Another trick was to first do a lo pass EQ on the guitar tracks until nearly all the sound went away. that was around 238 hz. I then closed the lo pass and put the hi pass at that frequency. When I track the bass, I'll set the EQ to lo pass at that freqency. I did this with a single guitar and single bass and it worked really well.

    Wish I knew a lot more about drums. I'm kind of doing this all backwards. Guitars, then bass, then drums. Gotta go with your strengths and learn new stuff and add it as you go.
    "Live and learn and flip the burns"

  16. #16
    Forum Member ch willie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6,376

    Re: Logic Pro Hacks

    That's great stuff, Dan. I'm sure it'll be a help to me. Got in my 34" Ultra Wide monitor, Logic downloaded, ready to start setting up this weekend.
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •