Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: How to Use Stereo Pedals

  1. #1
    Forum Member ch willie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6,301

    How to Use Stereo Pedals

    I'm working on my pedal board today, have them hooked up for regular mono.

    Several of my pedals together on the chain have stereo outputs

    From the order of guitar to amp, the pedals with stereo outputs: Strymon Lex Rotary--Strymon El Capistan Delay--Digitech Digital Delay--Boss RC-3 looper.

    My question: Is it possible to access the stereo functions of all four of these, each with left and right outputs? I can't wrap my brain around how that can be done. Most times, I just want to run them mono. However, at times, I'd like the effects running into two amps.
    chwillie. He's a post whore.

  2. #2
    TFF Stage Crew
    Moderator
    pc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    7,455

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    The easy answer is that if they have stereo inputs and outputs, you put patch cables into all of them, then the last pedal in line sends its stereo outputs to two amps. As to the order, that's more a matter of taste. With stereo, it's usually chorus/flange/rotary --> delay --> reverb. Where you put the looper is again a matter of preference, depending on whether you want the earlier effects to appear in the recorded loops.

    It's tougher when pedals have only one input but stereo outputs. In that event, you need some kind of master unit, into which you'd run every input and output, and switch the pedals on and off with the master unit, and then its stereo outs would go to two amps.

    I'm referring to something like a Boss ES-8, GigRig G2, etc. Requires a lot more cable runs and more room on your pedalboard of course. You'll likely need something like the GigRig Humdinger or one of the similar Radial boxes so that there's no ground loop between the two amps.

  3. #3
    Forum Member ch willie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6,301

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    Thanks for the response.

    Unfortunately, we're talking mono ins, stereo outs. Would be nice to have dual inputs and outputs.

    I'll probably only ever use the setup for home recording. I won't be able to have all the pedals running stereo at once, but I think I can figure out a way to use the stereo feature on one at a time.

    My old pa taught me the value of making things work if possible--the man had a car radiator hose he wasn't using, and his pipe under the kitchen sink was leaking. Next time I came home and looked under the cabinet, he'd used the hose for the sink drain pipe. Lasted for 20 years, leak free.
    chwillie. He's a post whore.

  4. #4
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    412

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    You run two amps.

  5. #5
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    412

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    Currently I'm running 3 amps. The CE5 mono run all the way though to the splitter and output "B" runs out to an amp. If the last pedal in your chain has two outs you won't need a splitter and your run two amps out of that pedal.



    As mentioned above the mono line runs into the splitter and there it out into two amp that stay on.

  6. #6
    Forum Member ch willie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6,301

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    Thanks, Mike.

    That's one way it can be done!

    Most times, it's the delay that I most want to run in stereo.

    It takes me a while--I just found out how to use my Rick O Sound on my 4001, and I've had it since 1978--didn't know it was so easy to use and never had two bass amps until recently.
    chwillie. He's a post whore.

  7. #7
    Forum Member Offshore Angler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New York Finger Lakes Area
    Posts
    7,481

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    Willie, I run my delay last in the chain. I'f I play in stereo it gets two cords out, if it's a small venue I just go mono. Chorus and delay are the only effects I use stereo on.

    A stereo delay is the nuts when you want to make it sound big at modern volumes.

    YMMV,

    Chuck
    "No harmonic knowledge, no sense of time, a ghastly tone, unskilled vibrato, and so on. Chuck is one of the worst guitar players I know" -Gravity Jim

  8. #8
    Forum Member ch willie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6,301

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    Quote Originally Posted by Offshore Angler View Post
    Willie, I run my delay last in the chain. I'f I play in stereo it gets two cords out, if it's a small venue I just go mono. Chorus and delay are the only effects I use stereo on.

    A stereo delay is the nuts when you want to make it sound big at modern volumes.

    YMMV,

    Chuck
    Thanks, Chuck. I've recently gotten my Rick-O-Sound going on the 4001 and running it stereo, at home mind you.

    For my guitar, the only ones I want stereo on are the Strymon delay and rotary pedals.
    chwillie. He's a post whore.

  9. #9
    TFF Stage Crew
    Moderator
    pc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    7,455

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    I'll throw this out there too.

    I have used two amps at gigs for 15+ years, originally because standing between them and hearing the stereo wash from modulation and/or delay is amazing. My biggest complaint was the same as it is for using delay with a single amp; so often your sound experiences a noticeable drop when you engage certain effects. So.. it sounded nice to me, but, the audience perceived the guitar solos as disappearing, rather than being enhanced.

    Then I discovered wet/dry. One amp gets all the time & pitch effects, the other gets straight signal. It was a game-changer. While there's no more stereo swirl with modulation effects, the sound is noticeably huge, without having to be LOUD. Sure, I can't say that the audience fully perceives delay-trails when the rest of the band is bashing away, but the perception of a fuller sound has absolutely been reported from our people in the FOH.

    I do it on my recordings too, mostly on the solos. Effects are only applied to one of two lead guitar tracks, while the other is dry. I found it to be a noticeable improvement in the mixes.

    While you're experimenting with two-amp setups, give it a whirl. May not be as game-changing to you, but it might be cool, too.

    I do it with my Humdinger splitter--in from the wah, compressor and overdrive goes to the Humdinger. Buffered out goes on to the delay, then to the first amp; isolated out goes to the second amp. But, if your delay is programable, you can tell it to send dry signal to one output and wet to the other.

  10. #10
    Forum Member ch willie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    6,301

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    PC, that's a good way of handling the stuff. When I had the easiest setup I ever recorded with, I'd record a dry track, copy and paste it, and then add effects to the second track. Makes the guitar sound bigger somehow.
    chwillie. He's a post whore.

  11. #11
    TFF Stage Crew
    Moderator
    pc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    7,455

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    Quote Originally Posted by ch willie View Post
    PC, that's a good way of handling the stuff. When I had the easiest setup I ever recorded with, I'd record a dry track, copy and paste it, and then add effects to the second track. Makes the guitar sound bigger somehow.
    Right? I'm not sure why, entirely, but it sure does.

  12. #12
    Forum Member Offshore Angler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New York Finger Lakes Area
    Posts
    7,481

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    Right on Pete. I usually use modeling systems now and I dual amp them often with one pretty clean and one cranked or effected on the split signal path.
    "No harmonic knowledge, no sense of time, a ghastly tone, unskilled vibrato, and so on. Chuck is one of the worst guitar players I know" -Gravity Jim

  13. #13
    TFF Stage Crew
    Moderator
    pc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    7,455

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    Quote Originally Posted by Offshore Angler View Post
    Right on Pete. I usually use modeling systems now and I dual amp them often with one pretty clean and one cranked or effected on the split signal path.
    I bet that sounds monstrous, Chuck!

  14. #14
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    34

    Re: How to Use Stereo Pedals

    I can run mine split from a pedal switcher the PXL Pro has two outs one for your high bank 1 to 4 and another for fx loop low bank 5 to 8 or you patch the FX out to the FX in and do all 8 into one amp and this switcher also has a tuner out that can be used as a clean out.. What I am going to do next is try some parallel set ups and see what type of wet dry mix I can get.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •