Thread: Tube Screamer TS808?

Tube Screamer TS808?

Anyone use one of these? That's supposed to be the version of OD found onboard my Tube Screamer amp. If the pedal sounds as good as the overdrive on the amp, damn! I was playing my Les Paul through it, and I'll be porked by rhino, it was the best sounding OD I've ever played through.
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

Ten miles from the Mexican Frontier, in Arizona

Re: Tube Screamer TS808?

Many of us have been using the Tube Screamer since the 1970's.
    "When injustice becomes law then rebellion becomes duty."

I've wanted one for a while but hadn't played through one. A buddy of mine plays an MIM Strat with a couple of them in his pedal chain. He gets the most fantastic tone.
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

TFF Stage Crew

I've been using them since 1982, & I don't think I've ever paid more than $50 for one. Mostly $30 - $35. Last one I bought was a like-new reissue for $20. I put a chip socket in it, installed a 4558 chip, & away we go. Sounds indistinguishable from my original

Well, I ordered one. Sweetwater is out of stock at the moment, and it might take a while. I'm in no rush. If it gets close to what I'm hearing in that little amp, I'll be a pretty happy guy.

TFF Stage Crew

I think you might dig it. It's nothing fancy, that's for sure. But they're common as flies for a reason! It's a fun & easy pedal imo

TFF Stage Crew

Just for clarity, I'm talking about the TS-9. I've used an 808 but as far as the sound goes they sounded the same to me

here's a pretty good article about those

https://guitar.com/review/effects-pe...on-od808-od-9/

I have a Maxon 808 OD reissue and a TS-9 reissue. Both are quite good at what they do. I paid a bit more than 50 dollars for both because they were brand new
    "Live and learn and flip the burns"