Thread: I'm pi$$ed!

I'm pi$$ed!

I've been working with Charlie Karp for a couple years now recording music and hadn't heard from him in a while. Tried calling a number of times and then reached out to both his engineer and the keyboard player we've used in our tunes (He plays in a couple bands with him). Turns out nobody had heard from him because he was in the hospital. He's a great guy and I hope he'll be OK, but he's still in the hospital after a week and nobody's talking about what's wrong. Anyways, I reached out to the engineer to ask about all the files we've generated in ProTools - how can I get a copy of everything so I can keep the work going if he ends up too sick to continue (hope not - I have learned a lot from him).

So here's what got me pissed off... When we took the files to another studio with better equipment somehow in the transfer to a portable HDD, a few of the tracks disappeared. Like the main vocals to at least one song, bass and several backup vocals and harmonies. Literally months of work gone. He is still trying to reconstruct what he can, but now he tells me there was no backup drive... this $hit is gone!We were one session away from completing three tunes (the best yet) and now I don't know what I'm going to do (both in terms of Charlie's singing harmonies, playing bass and generally helping push me to my limits) I've invested a good chunk of money to get where we are and I'd hate to see it go to waste... Oh well - rant over... maybe things will turn out OK, I'm just not happy right now.
    "We catched fish and talked, and we took a swim now and then to keep off sleepiness." Mark Twain

Re: I'm pi$$ed!

Does this other studio have a different version of Pro Tools?
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

Quote Originally Posted by chuckocaster View Post
    Does this other studio have a different version of Pro Tools?