Thread: Damn I did it—new Ampeg

Damn I did it—new Ampeg

I said I would do without it, but I just kept dreaming about that ball rumbling, round Ampeg tube sound. I just ordered an Ampeg V4B 100 wt all tube head and an SVT 410 Heritage cab. It’s supposed to be here Friday, and if it comes before I leave for a gig, I’ll be using it for that gig. I’ve wanted an Ampeg ever since I started playing bass in 1976. Yes I know Ampegs are now made overseas, but I’ve read mostly enthusiastic reviews. I’ll give a review of it here ASAP.
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

Re: Damn I did it—new Ampeg

Hell Yeah!

What happend?
    Who let the magic smoke out?

Forum Member

Ooof! LIVIN' LARGE! See if you can blow up one of those rolling boom boxes with it!

BAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSS WAAAAAARS!

Baaaaassss waaaaaarrsss. Ha ha!
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

I'll be interested in your review.

I've been looking for another V-4 to replace my '76 that I owned until I had to sell it to pay medical bills after a motorcycle accident (didn't have insurance back then.) I see the vintage ones every now and then, like that full stack I posted pictures of a year or two ago. Prices are bit more than I can swallow and very few are original or functioning properly. I'm wary of the new stuff but I'd like to try to have an open mind about it.

Enjoy that - its a VERY NICE premium Rig!

I had the American made HLF - loved it but size and weight and output coupled with my own inexperience made it tough to use out. That said - what a RIG! If you are going to take it gigging, get a road case for the head, or at least a cover. Probably a slip cover for the cab would be good too.

can't wait to hear your Tone Report!
    Kenny Belmont
    >:^{I)>

Quote Originally Posted by FrankJohnson View Post
    Enjoy that - its a VERY NICE premium Rig!