Thread: Bass FX

Bass FX

I've never used bass pedal fx. I don't like overdrive on basses or any kind of distortion. I tried a phaser yesterday, and nah.

What fx do you use when you play bass. Anything useful?
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

Re: Bass FX

Most of the FX I use aren’t really FX as most people do. I have a BBE OptoStomp optical compressor that’s always on, along with a SansAmp Bassdriver. These 2 are used to mimic the feel and sound of a tube head like an SVT or similar. I also use a TC Electronics Sub’n’Up for octave dividing. I also always have an OD or fuzz on my board as that’s a sound I like. I’m not personally into chorus or phase, none of the bass players I admired growing up used that sound.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

Chuck, the SansAmp seems interesting. Would I absolutely need the compressor to get the sound you’re describing?
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

Sort of. While the SansAmp is great, it’s pretty linear in its dynamic response. I use the optical compressor since it’s subtle and very tube like in how it “feels”. Unlike a DynaComp or similar, it doesn’t squash. It’s a very subtle thing. I’m sure you can get by without it, I’m just super picky and prefer to use one. Compression is something that can be tricky to use, so start light at first

Wanted to add that I use these pieces to mimic the V4B, SUNN T and Nomad tube bass heads I used to play. My tone has some “grind” to it, it’s what I like. I’m not opposed to solid state amps, I LOVE my Ashdown. But there’s a certain “edge of breakup” tone that SS gear has a hard time replicating. I think the SansAmp is a great pedal to have whether you use it to color or as a DI. I don’t use it when I play my Ashdown as that already has compression and drive.