Thread: 1st fret problem

Forum Member

1st fret problem

hi,i struggle with the f chord with the index finger,both e strings[especially the high]on my tele.I have 4 other guitars-sg,330,sheraton,12 fret no name, that are a breeze to play. I asked my friend who sets lots of guitars up etc and he said to just play the bloody thing haha,now,i can totally see/respect his opinion but its doin my head in[the tele,not him], i try more pressure,less pressure,roll index,thumb adjust,wrist angle,tight against fret,in the middle-5/10 the e string dont play right,back to other guitars-piss easy f! Gotta be the nut or something right?

Re: 1st fret problem

You said frets 5-10 the E string is sitting on the fret? Then you need more relief. Try setting up your Tele to Fender specs, and see if that helps

Also, is the fretboard 7.25 or 9.5" radius on the Tele? You didn't specify, but you're comparing it to Gibson 12" fretboards. Seems like you're used to those.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

Forum Member

Hi,the radius is 7.25" c shape, the strings if anything are too high on first fret,like i have to press down too hard or something,just on fret 1-the rest of the guitar plays easy,cheers

Well, from reading your first post, it sounds like you need to setup the guitar. From what you've said, the strings are too high at the first fret, and low in the middle of the neck? No mention of up higher.

Again, I'd recommend you setup your guitar to Fender specs. If anything, the 7.25" radius neck should be EASIER to play chords on than your other guitars. Leo went with that radius as it's the natural curve of our fingers.

Try this experiment: Relax. Put your arms down with your hands by your side. Relax some more. Freeze your hands as they naturally hang. Freeze your hands as they are. Now examine what your hands look like. Your fingers naturally curve in a rested state, and it's close to 7.25" radius

Forum Member