Thread: Pearly Gates?

Pearly Gates?

Any of you ever use a Pearly Gates, bridge, neck, or both?
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

Re: Pearly Gates?

I had a Lone Star Strat that had a PG in the bridge. Wish it was after I learned how to set pickup heights, tone controls and dial in the amp better. I was still in my everything on 10, never put a screwdriver to the guitar phase back then. I probably kept that strat the longest of my fender gear slutting days.

I've had several in different guitars, does a nice overwound but not too overwound tone. I personally have gotten into vintage output HB's, more to my liking.

What are you wanting to put one in?
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

I'm thinking someday of getting a Warmoth chambered Tele body, and I want something with a bit of kick. I have Alnico IIs on my Les Paul, Nocasters on the Tele, and 57/62s on one Strat--all wonderful. Think I might go for something hotter IF I get a Warmoth body.
    If we'd known we were going to be the Beatles, we'd have tried harder.--George Harrison

IME, you don't want to go too hot in a hollow guitar, they mush out and are midrange heavy if you're not careful. The PG is probably fine, right on the edge. I would use an HB with A4 or A5 mags, nothing A2.

The mushyness can be a problem. I've also considered Duncan custom P90s. Are P90s a good choice on a heavily chambered body?

The mush comes from too much midrange and not enough treble, which are common symptoms of "overwound" pups. I think, and this is just personally, it's easier to add the "grit" and "drive" with a pedal or on the amp.

Like I said, I think the PG will be fine, but I wouldn't go hotter than that. JMO