Thread: Great unplugged resonance does not translate into great amplified tone

Great unplugged resonance does not translate into great amplified tone

I know this is a controversial subject, but I genuinely believe now that unplugged acoustic response doesn't appear to make a difference to amplified tone.

I've been playing guitar for nearly 40 years in gigging bands, recording and in pit bands for amateur theatre and I've been fortunate enough to have owned and played a great number of Stratocasters in that time. I still own an embarrassing number of them, from early Japanese ones to Custom Shop modern and Time Machine models. My oldest one is an original '78 which I've had from new, and I've had the pleasure of playing extensively on an original '63 sunburst, which also has been owned from new by a friend of mine who used to be a pro in the sixties. I guess this background is to illustrate that I'm not totally ignorant on the subject.

I've just acquired what I believe to be my finest Strat ever (in my opinion), which is a '57 Closet Classic with a lightweight ash body, a chunky handful of a neck and a beautifully subtle crazed lacquer checking on the two-tone sunburst body. I had the opportunity to choose from 20 or so Custom Shop guitars in a variety of levels of relic'ing, and I specifically asked the dealer to select what he thought was the lightest he had, then the best playing, the best sounding etc... each time, comparing them until I found what I felt was the nicest one amongst those I could afford (most of the Master Built's were out of my price range).