Thread: Powered Mains ?

Powered Mains ?

I've never used them before but have been considering.

Could any one share some pros/cons, likes / dislikes, make & model recommendations?

Thanks

Re: Powered Mains ?

My church uses them. I can't, for the life of me, remember the make/model even though I turn them on and off every darn Sunday. Sheesh.

I guess one con is that you've got to run juice to them in addition to a speaker cable. If you play in a place where outlets are limited, that means some extra extension cords and/or power strips.

In general, I like 'em. It's convenient as anything. There's no guesswork on whether you've got the right amp for the speakers. You just run a line to them and you're good.

No separate power amp, so that might be one less thing to carry.
    s'all goof.

i use them at church also, they are yorkvilles... okay, but not great. my gripe is not so much them being powered as much as that the rig is underpowered for the room. most shows i mix use passive speakers.

talking to a friend of mine the other day it all came clear to me. mind you, it may make no difference for your application:

powered speakers are fine (i personally get good results out of them), but they give up some internal acoustic space which messes with the sound. passive speakers are better because you can control them more.

at the end of the day though, use your ears! it don't mean a thing if it ain't got that swing.

best of luck dude.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

We use Mackie powered speakers and we love them. We also use powered monitors.

Jerry

I like Mackie powered mains, but haven't had the cash to get any myself, so the experience has always been at other locations.

as i see it:

Pros:
    -convenience for bands, easier to lug around.
    -sometimes cheaper than components
    -no mixing/matching of speaker/amp

Cons:
    -no room to upgrade amp or speaker
    -if it breaks, it's broken, unless you're willing to swap stuff out.