Thread: Boutiqe PAF copies

Boutiqe PAF copies

I have a great deal of purchasing experience, in 21 years you hear and see it all. Smoke & mirrors, outlandish claims, unrealistic explanations, etc
    As far as music equipment goes, I have been buying and selling for 12 years, repairing for 9 years. There is even more misinformation out there. IMHO -If you have not tried several examples of manufactures A, B, and C - I don't think you are qualified to say which is better or superior and why- other than just an opinion.

I approached this as objectively as I could along with a healthy dose of skepticism.

I met the guy who runs Thro-Bak, he winds pickups. They start at expensive and go up from there. Why on earth would someone pay that much for pickups? it's wire, magnets, and spacers.. They are all made pretty much similar / the same

To make a short story long, I found out he is one knowledgeable guy.
    I got / bought a set of his PAF copies and installed them today

I can A/B as I have the LP studio with the same pickups (496/500's) in it - the clarity, balance, and response is so different! I can't work up a cost justification for this but there is a very noticeable improvement. I expected them to be better but not this nice..
    do I look like I know what I'm doing?

Re: Boutiqe PAF copies

Quote Originally Posted by rudutch View Post
    ...I approached this as objectively as I could along with a healthy dose of skepticism... Why on earth would someone pay that much for pickups? it's wire, magnets, and spacers.. They are all made pretty much similar / the same...
    there in lies your answer. yes pickups really are just a few components, but so is an amp, and so are guitars. every piece can be crucial to the final outcome. i think more so in pickups and transformers. we're talking type of wax, time of submersion, there are a lot of factors that go into it.