Thread: Bridge pup that sounds like PAF?

Forum Member

Bridge pup that sounds like PAF?

Exuse the ignorant question, Ive been playing Les Pauls for 40 years and just picked up (believe it or not), my first ever strat..... If I want to change just the bridge pup (they are all Tex Mex) without routing or modifying and I want to get as close to a classic PAF humbucker tone as possible, what kind of pickup do you guys suggest.... rail, stacked, brand, etc.....

Thanks.

Re: Bridge pup that sounds like PAF?

check under the guard, your guitar might already be routed for an HB. some strats are. rails and sc sized hb's have always left me feeling empty.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

Forum Member

sorry.... I see that this should of been posted in the pickup area.....

TFF Stage Crew

A little investigation might be in order. Years ago I saw the Allman Brothers when Dickey Betts & Jack Pearson were on guitars. Dickey played a two-tone maple necked Strat in that show & if I closed my eyes I'd have sworn it sounded like Goldie. I don't know if it was a real one or not; I seem to remember someone commenting on it being a special '54 reissue from the Custom Shop.
    Of course, a couple 100W Marshalls, JBLs, & Dickey's hands are all important parts of that equation, lol
    *edited for spelling*
    Last edited by Cogs; 01-16-2010 at 08:54 PM.

Forum Member