Thread: Audiophile question

Audiophile question

When I was an audio consultant with Sam Goody back in 1980 I bought a pair of AR 11B's - what I felt were (arguably) the best bookshelf speaker of the day. They have begun to sound like crap. I had to replace the woofers about 5 years ago, and now I think either the tweeters or midrange drivers are shot - or maybe the crossovers. In any case, I figure that speaker technology has improved so much, it might not make any sense to invest more money into them. I've been leaning towards a set of studio monitors to replace them. In particular, these really caught my eye... or these; especially with the matching subwoofer (or this one) subwoofer#2.

I really have a critical ear and wonder if I'd be better off looking at regular audio speakers, or setting up the man cave with studio electronics instead so I cxan also get a better sound when I'm recording. Opinions?

Feel free to share your thoughts!
    "We catched fish and talked, and we took a swim now and then to keep off sleepiness." Mark Twain

Re: Audiophile question

Not that I have an informed opinion to offer, but I'm really confused by your intent: Are you looking to replace your stereo speakers (in, say, the living room) or to get some sturdy/flat monitors for recording cave output?

(or... maybe the Cave is also the audio listening environment?)

Ten miles from the Mexican Frontier, in Arizona

In 1971 I bought a brand new pair of JBL L100As from Pacific Mail Order located in Kowloon, Hong Kong. Flew there and personally picked them up during a mid-tour leave from Vietnam. They're in my living room right now......sounding all the much like the day they were new. In '88 I had to have the dome tweeters and mid-range speakers re-coned. Other than that, it's been smooth sailing for thirty-eight years.