Thread: Who uses an attenuator?

Who uses an attenuator?

Or has used one?

What do you think of them? I'm considering a Weber Mass or something similar, both for recording at home and gigs. I've heard both good and bad, but I'd like to get some opinions from this forum.

Forum Member

Re: Who uses an attenuator?

Quote Originally Posted by boobtube21 View Post
    Or has used one?

What do you think of them? I'm considering a Weber Mass or something similar, both for recording at home and gigs. I've heard both good and bad, but I'd like to get some opinions from this forum.
    I have been using a Weber Mass 100 for a few years, but recently stopped, and have gone back to using my volume controls more. I have mixed feelings now. They are useful for when you just caint crank the sucker. Hurts top end tho.

CT.

I use (and build) low watt amps.
    Rather drive from the top than choke it down.

Scratch that.
    Sounds obscene, and it probably is!

Yeah, I've heard it cuts a little high end too.

Other reports indicate that you lose the ability to control volume from the guitar...like you are playing on 5, then turn up the guit's vol to 10, and it doesn't get any louder. This doesn't make any sense to me, but then again I've never used one and don't know how they work, other than the fact that Weber uses a speaker motor in place of a resistor.

Anyone else ever use of these?

supposedly the "ultimate" really is the ultimate. never played one, but look on LPF, there are a ton of threads on it.

i've played the weber, it was pretty nice, but i didn't buy one. to my ears, the tone started to "smear" when used with a heavy hand. it was okay when used very sparingly, past that it tweaked the sound of the amp. it became too compressed and lifeless. no dynamics.