Thread: new guy Super Reverb maintenance question

Forum Member

new guy Super Reverb maintenance question

Howdy all,
    At near 59 years old, I just started playing guitar again. Played rhythm in high school and college bands, rock and roll. Despite traveling all over the world, I never sold the Super Reverb I had from back then. I think it is a '66 model and has never had any maintenance. The other day I plugged in a Telecaster knock off I just finished building from a kit. The SR did her hissing, popping and crackling that I would expect from sitting so long. Reading this forum, I think I would be best served to find someone to go through the thing and update as required. So, my question is, can anyone recommend a reputable person/shop in the San Antonio area? I'm sure there must be someone in nearby Austin, so I can certainly take it up there for someone good to do the work. Thanks in advance for any recommendations.

Ten miles from the Mexican Frontier, in Arizona

Re: new guy Super Reverb maintenance question

I'd take that SR up to TJ (aka "NTBluesGuitar" here on the TFF) in Denton -- he's intimately familiar with BF architecture and won't snow you or rob you.

Best of luck, HTH
    "When injustice becomes law then rebellion becomes duty."

Forum Member

I sincerely appreciate the suggestion. I sure wish I could find someone a little closer in the middle of the state, though. Thanks, Lou

Forum Member

Go to the vintage guitar stie and peep thru their classifide listings as you may turn up some one closer. I most times have a mag here with me at work, but today I do not other wise I would look for you.
    Dependant where the amp has been stored, you may concider changing out the speakers to keep then working to maintane the amps value.
    Original working speakers can be worth 40% of a vintage amps value if it sould come time to sell it.