Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Building a "Frankenstrat"

Building a "Frankenstrat"

Hi,

I've been having serious gas for an EVH "Frankenstein" guitar lately, but unfortunately I don't have the $25000 to spare. So I thought, why not build my own? It could be a fun guitar project.

I've never built a guitar before so I'm not sure what would be the best approach. Buy a cheap Strat style guitar as a starting point or build one from scratch. There are no actual models on the market that have the same specs as the original. There's always eBay and I've seen a few places on the internet that offer body parts too. But I'm having a hard time finding parts that match the exact same specs as Frankenstein. The neck is the biggest issue (2 piece maple neck + maple fingerboard - no skunkline at the back of the neck - 25.5" scale lenght, 21 jumbo frets, 12"-16" compound radius, 1 5/8" at the nut, rod adjustment at the heel...).

Here are the specs I gathered from searching different websites and forums:

Body: Ash - 1975 factory second Strat ash body (Northern hard ash body?)
    Neck: Maple bolt-on
    Fingerboard: Maple w/ 12"-16" compound radius w/ black dot inlays
    Tuning Machines: 6 in-line Schaller M-6 Mini Guitar Machines
    Frets: 21 Jumbo (Dunlop® 6100)
    Scale Length: 25.5" (648 mm)
    Width at Nut: 1-5/8" (41.2 mm)
    Bridge pickup: Seymour Duncan(®) Custom Shop EVH 14k degaussed A2 magnets or Duncan 78 pickup(?) (asymmetric wind)
    Middle pickup: None
    Neck pickup: Non-fonctional unknown single-coil pickup w/ black cover
    Pickup Switching: 3-way switch (non-fontional)
    Pickguard: One-ply black
    Controls: Master Volume (“Tone” knob) – 500K pots
    Bridge: Floyd Rose® Original Tremolo
    Nut: R-2 = 1-5/8" Locking Nut
    Hardware: Aged Chrome
    Strings: GHS .009, .011, .016, .026, .036, .046
    Paint: Black, White & Red (Schwinn) Acrylic lacquer bicycle paint sprayed in that order
    Strap buttons: (2) Eye hooks