Thread: Thinking about getting a Jaguar...

Forum Member

Thinking about getting a Jaguar...

Hi, newbie here

I've been saving up for a new electric, and I was thinking about getting a Jaguar. Since the USA ones are expensive, I'm probably going to get a Fender Japan one.

What I want to know is, what makes a Jaguar so special? I've only really played with Strats and Teles, so I have no idea how the other models sound or feel like.

Also, if anyone could point me out as to which Jaguar model to get (Fender Japan), that would be great too ^_^
    Last edited by Ryuu; 07-29-2003 at 05:08 AM.

Forum Member
    Not trying to be a troll here, but honestly-nothing. Especially the Japanese ones. The guitar itself will be well made, but the pickups on even the high end ones are a bit shrill (alot of people assume they're like Strat pickups, but this is not true). That being said, a MIJ Jazzmaster with Seymour Duncan Jazzmaster pickups will give you a fuller sound yet similar to the Jag for a reasonable price and with all of the vibrato and switching features associated with those models. Also save yourself some headaches and get yourself an Allparts Mustang bridge for it so you won't have as bad a time with the vibrato. Good luck.

If you're used to Strats and Teles, you'll probably find the short scale Jaguar to be quite different. I had a MIJ 62RI Jaguar, and I just couldn't get into it, mainly due to the reduced sustain. It always felt a little strangled compared to Strats and Teles, and I ended up selling it even though I loved everything else about it - the vibe, etc.

I would recommend going to a local store and giving one a thorough try out before sinking any money into one.

I have a '68 Jaguar. A friend (who never got around to learning to play guitar) bought it back in the early 80s, then handed it over to me in 1985, saying "I never play it, you take it and play it." So I took it, and I've had it for 18 years... but I never play it.