Thread: Building a 5E3, Can I Do It?

Forum Member

Building a 5E3, Can I Do It?

I'm considering building a 5E3 kit. I'm a bit spooked-out by the task, as I have never built an amp.

I've built 7 stomp box kits to get my feet wet, (and they all work!). I do all my own auto repair, (I drive old BMWs, Saabs and Audi so my tool box is deep) true not an amp, but I'm hopping its the same skill set. I'm a designer and project manager at an art studio, so my visual skills are above most folks. I know my hands can do it..

I'm not even sure why I want to build a 5E3. I've read many favorable post and it 'seems' to be the best selling kit (the only kit Mission sells). I've never even played one. What other amps of similar complexity should be considered?

I'm I crazy?
    What do ya think, can I make it work?

P e a c e
    KYChuck

Re: Building a 5E3, Can I Do It?

Go for it! Seems like you got the right stuff...attention to detail, patience, tools, the idea of bringing together a bunch of parts and giving them life, etc.

Once you start you can't stop.

Have fun!
    Mandopicker

Tourin the southland in a travelin minstrel show...

E-Z, just don't zap yourself. And take your time and quit for the day if something frustrates you. You'll be amazed at how easy it is. But I will tell you a secret: after you get it built and working is when the real fun begins - tweaking it. You will want to get the best power tubes you can find and then take bias readings. It is muy importante to get the resistor value right on a cathode biased amp since you can't otherwise adjust it. After you get good tubes biased right, then you can start playing with cap/resistor values and fine tuning it.

Actually, if you were to do this right, you should build a 5F2 first. It would easier for you to understand how it all works together if you did a 5F2.

The biggest danger is not being able to stop building!
    My first full build was the 5E3 earlier this year.