Thread: Strat with 1 or more humbuckers?

Strat with 1 or more humbuckers?

Anyone built a guitar like this? I'm thinking about doing a project that has at least 1 humbucker in the bridge or maybe 1 bridge and 1 neck like a Gibson or Tele Deluxe. Photos and story please!

Re: Strat with 1 or more humbuckers?

i've built some for other people, but i've always liked the p90 strats that i've built. i'm personally not an hb fan, and the p90's give me more of the "fat" i'm looking for, without the phase cancellation that hb's exhibit.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

I have a couple...

Or...

Ok, just kidding.
    But Charvel has a few very strat-like guitars that follow this idea...as well as Kramer and others. I like the Strat as it is, a strat.
    The only way I would go HB in one is stacked, or noiseless SC.

My pepto Strat.

T-Tops from my 76 Les Paul Custom:

Damn, Wilko...I love that thing.
    Under most circumstances...not.
    But it looks so playable!

he he!

Totally "playable". There is another thread here about it with a few video links.

The neck is a very comfortable Japanese Squier slab board and "D" shape, that I bought new in about 1985. Still has original frets. Guitar is around 8 lbs with Warmoth Ash body.

Pickups are typical T-Tops with all the glassy shimmer that they provide and they are wired Volume, Tone, Tone. Switched Neck, Both, Bridge.

Tuners are Schaller Deluxe Kluson double-ring style.

Quote Originally Posted by Wilko View Post
    he he!

Totally "playable". There is another thread here about it with a few video links.

The neck is a very comfortable Japanese Squier slab board and "D" shape, that I bought new in about 1985. Still has original frets. Guitar is around 8 lbs with Warmoth Ash body.

Pickups are typical T-Tops with all the glassy shimmer that they provide and they are wired Volume, Tone, Tone. Switched Neck, Both, Bridge.

Tuners are Schaller Deluxe Kluson double-ring style.