Thread: the gfs repro 60's vs the 64's.

the gfs repro 60's vs the 64's.

for the new to me MIM. bread and butter has the alnico 3 low wounds, the 70's has some hot A5 flat poles. so i'm looking at getting something sort of in the middle. so i was thinking the grey bottoms because they are just a touch hotter, cause my hamel A3's are wound about the same as the 60's repros. but i'm not ruling those out.

so which would you guys choose, since i know a lot of you on here have tried the gfs offerings. thanks guys.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

Re: the gfs repro 60's vs the 64's.

I like the 60's Repros a lot, but I haven't tried the others, so I have no basis for comparison.
    There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness".
    -Dave Barry

Forum Member

i have the grey bottoms in a MIM strat and they sound pretty dang good. a bit trebley, but i like them.

i went with the 64's, since they were a touch hotter than the 60's repros. my hamels are awesome, and are wound to about with the 60's repros are, granted they have A3's.

if these work out, i should have a nice selection of strat tones, sparkly 50's, nice 60's standard tone, and then ballsy flat poles.

i'll post a review when i get them in.

Excellent! I look forward to your reviews.

I've been itching to put 3 GFS lipstick tubes in one of my strats. I've got one of them in another guitar and it sounds great. Three would be fantastic.
    There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness".
    -Dave Barry

Quote Originally Posted by chuckocaster View Post
    i went with the 64's, since they were a touch hotter than the 60's repros. my hamels are awesome, and are wound to about with the 60's repros are, granted they have A3's.

if these work out, i should have a nice selection of strat tones, sparkly 50's, nice 60's standard tone, and then ballsy flat poles.

i'll post a review when i get them in.