Thread: Carl Verheyen

Carl Verheyen

Just got to see Carl Verheyen last night in Hampton, Va. I sat 6 feet from the stage & was just totally blown away. He improvised on the most killer version of Little Wing I have ever heard. I begged him after the show to record it some day. Carl & the members of his band are just the nicest people you'd ever want to meet. Definately go see them if you get the chance. His new cd "Six" is great also.

Registered
    He's no joke, I like his playing a lot.

Carl is my favorite guitarist. I've seen him play live around L.A. more times than I can remember. When I was a student at G.I.T., I attended every clinic and master class Carl gave. I've probably learned more from Carl Verheyen than any other player or teacher I've ever known.

IMO, Carl is one of the most underrated and underexposed guitar players on the planet. He really should be a household name, IMO. Verheyen's intervallic approach to single note improvisation is extremely original, and he's easily the most versatile player I've ever heard. Carl plays rock, blues, jazz, country, nylon string classical, and you-fill-in-the-blank_______ with equal authority.

(Hence his standing as a first-call session player in L.A.)

I highly recommend Carl's instructional video "Intervallic Rock" to anyone looking to take their playing to the next level.

As for recordings, "No Borders" and "Garage Sale" (Carl's first two efforts) are my favorites insofar as these discs are the most guitar-intensive and best showcase Carl's versatility, IMO. Carl's subsequent releases have been more blues/classic rock-oriented.

http://www.carlverheyen.com

Thanks for the heads up and site address - from the looks of that first pic it looks like he plays a Don Grosh s-style (among others) although I can't tell for sure, which I'd be interested in hearing. I'll definitely check him out...
    Last edited by LightninBoy; 07-17-2003 at 04:33 AM.