Thread: Have you tried the Boss Micro BR?

Have you tried the Boss Micro BR?

Hi All,

I just bought a Micro BR. I have to say, for what it all does, it's a pretty cool tool for getting ideas down, recording rythm tracks to practice solo's, recording band practice, etc. I'm brand new to recording, and I was able to put together a rythm track with drums, and record a solo over it. All in about an hour. It sounded pretty good.

In the last 6 months I've been through a Boss GT-8, and a ToneLab LE. If I have a complaint, It would be the amp models really just don't sound very good, reminded me of why I sold the GT-8. Especially the distortion models are fuzzy and they bottem out.

Proir to selecting the Micro, I was considering the BR-600. I can only assume the 600 has the same amp models, and sounds the same? Is that correct?

I also just bought a Pod XT, I think the Pod is much better sounding than the GT-8, or the tonelab LE.

What are your opinions? I'm leaning toward using my laptop and the pod XT for recording, but I have no idea how to get drums into any recording program. That was where the Micro BR shines...It was just super easy to put it all together.

Cyber

Re: Have you tried the Boss Micro BR?

I bought one a while back for similar reasons.

I found the drums a bit tricky to get the hang of at first, but now the little thing is worth its weight in gold.

It could do with a few more tracks, but for a basic recorder for getting song ideas down and experimenting it's great. :)
    i bet this really annoy's you if your a grammar freak.

Actually, now I think about it, there is one gripe I have with the BR. It might be down to user error, though.

When I do a small recording and just set the drums to play one particular rhythm track over and over again, when I save it it seems to revert to a 130BPM tempo. Have you had this before? It seems fine when programming proper drum patterns in, but otherwise it reverts to 130.