Thread: What single coils are for me?

What single coils are for me?

Ok, I have a cheap ripoff jazzmaster guitar by stagg and it's loaded with 3 toneless pickups that will make a deaf person cringe. Despite what everyone says about stagg being so cheap, it's a very nice guitar, especially for the money.

Anyways, I'm looking at some fender custom shop pickups, but I don't know which ones to get that would sound best. I play a lot of Texas blues, so the Texas Specials are looking good to me, but I also love having a nice clean tone, which I hear the Texas Specials are a bit lacking being over wound to about 6.5k, so now the 57/62's are looking even better to me.

I want the nice typical strat tone that turns into a nice gritty blues tone with a nice tube screamer. I'm torn here, can you help me decide?
    Quote Originally Posted by sting7777
    tone knobs just get in the way of things like windmills and playing with your teeth upside down anyway

Duluth, MN. Birthplace of Bobby Zimmerman

Re: What single coils are for me?

I know you're asking about Fender custom shop here, but I have to say that the GFS '64 stagger Texas grey bottoms might be exactly what you're looking for.
    You'll get your Texas Blues and an incredible clean sound to boot. Plus, you won't have to invest as much as you paid for your entire guitar. You gotta' trust me on this one.
    "If you're cool, you don't know nothin' about it. It just is...or you ain't." - Keith Richards

Quote Originally Posted by Joobsauce View Post
    Ok, I have a cheap ripoff jazzmaster guitar by stagg and it's loaded with 3 toneless pickups that will make a deaf person cringe. Despite what everyone says about stagg being so cheap, it's a very nice guitar, especially for the money.