Thread: What is it like studio playing?

What is it like studio playing?

I've been playing for 35 years. At an open mic the house band guitarist was joking with me to the audience asking, "Didn't I hear you on Austin City Limits the other night?" and later "You're really a studio musician, aren't you?"...

Off to the side, he told me he really admired my playing and told me I should always play my guitar "clean" because I have a great touch and tone through the amp.

I've wondered since then what it might be like to play in the studio. Anyone out there mind relating their experiences and observations of what that world is like, what it takes to do well, any details to consider, or recommendations for how to find a studio and get started? Just what does a studio expect the guitar player to be able to do? What's important and what doesn't matter?

Re: What is it like studio playing?

I didn't like the fact that 1.we had to wear headphones & 2.being In different rooms was very awkward?
    Oh the tone

It's been twenty years for me since I was last in a real studio. I'm sure things have changed dramatically since then, but I'm sure some of the basics remain the same.

The first key element to remember is, you're there to take advantage of their experience. Don't be upset or take offence to the sound engineer wanting to tweak your tone. Or the recording engineer telling you to play it again, even though you thought you nailed it twenty times before. Aside from those things, try to relax. Forget the fact that things are being recorded. So many people, even experienced ones, tend to freeze up or play more tense when they know they're being recorded.

Also, it's important to understand the studio's role. Just because you pop in and record a few songs don't mean they're going to give you a shrink wraped CD complete with album art ready to sell in a store two weeks later. Recording is only one facet of the entire process. There is mixing, mastering, producing yet to come.