Thread: Quit my band ( long rant)

Quit my band ( long rant)

Finally had enough

I invested about 6 grand in a new pa ( the lead singer sold his) haul it to every gig and set it up.

lead singer, cannot adjust volume levels on his guitar, claims he cannot hear his monitor even though I am using 500 watts each into a brand new trio of MRX JBL monitors, Pushes it so far it feeds back and cliams I dont know how to mix.( I have been playing pro for 27 years) I have no trouble hearing mine nor dioes the bass player.

He is the only one who alwyas complains about something, blows up, can't hear and plays too loud.

Told them I am done. I have anew gig this weekend with the drummer and bass player as a trio

Gravity Jim

Re: Quit my band ( long rant)

Dude, you didn't quit your band... you fired your singer!

On the other hand, maybe you really can't mix.
    "No harmonic knowledge, no sense of time, a ghastly tone, unskilled vibrato, and so on. Chuck is one of the worst guitar players I know" -Gravity Jim

Hmmmmmmmmm..... where have I seen this before?

Dosen't sound like there should be a problem. Maybe getting rid of the XXXXX might work. You know, you should've tried setting everything up to your liking and when he complained moved him over to your monitor etc. to see if the problem was still there.

Sounds to me like a classic case of too much stage sound in the first place.
    If, at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving.
    Two leaps per chasm is fatal!

Gravity Jim

I can think of some other reasons why this might be going on even if JM3 is doing a fine job of mixing (all of which I've experienced in various situations):

The singer has a huge midrange hearing deficit and is frustrated because he really can't hear himself:

The singer has insecurity issues about his guitar not being the loudest thing in the mix:

The singer has a personality conflict with one or more band members and is just being a jerk.

now you can split the $$ 3 ways