Thread: Pick up height adjustment issues

Pick up height adjustment issues

I have the old "farting amp" syndrome. Especially on the low E string. Are my pickups too close?

Re: Pick up height adjustment issues

lower your neck pup down. probably a case of "stratitis".
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

Forum Member

Somebody tell a Strat noob what Stratitis and Farting Amp Syndrome are. Are they contagious?

Stratitus: When your pickups are so close to the strings that the magnetic field from the pickup pole-pieces actually interfere with the string vibrations, resulting in poor tone, poor sustain, and sometimes weird overtones that beat with the note in an unmusical manner. This tends to happen more with single coil pickups - hence the name.

Solution: Lower your pickups.

Farting amp syndrome: When you play a low note and the amp/speaker goes BWAAAP instead having a nice defined note. Sometimes occurs with Stratitus, sometimes its the amp/speaker.

Solution: (1) Lower your pickups. (2) Get rid of that POS amp and buy an original '65 Fender Twin Reverb, you cheapskate.

(this coming from the owner of a cheap solid-state Peavey amp)

Sorry, I'm feeling cheeky today ... it's been a long week
    "Time is an illusion, lunchtime doubly so" -- Douglas Adams
    "If something has a 1 in a million chance of occurring, 9 times out of 10 it will happen" -- Terry Pratchett

Forum Member

this coming from the owner of a cheap solid-state Peavey amp
    Hey, I had two of those in the 1980s, when I was a metal head. A 20w Backstage and a 160w (!) 2x12 Renown. I wanted a Marshall stack, but I couldn't afford one on my fast-food paycheck.

I'm an EE and still can't afford a better amp. Or rather, justify it to my wife, since I am strickly a couch player.
    "If something has a 1 in a million chance of occurring, 9 times out of 10 it will happen" -- Terry Pratchett

Forum Member