Thread: New EJ Strat Questions

Forum Member

New EJ Strat Questions

Hiya All,

I am a newbie here on TFF. I just got a new EJ Sig. Strat in 2 tone Sunburst and had a few questions. If you already own one, you could probably be a big help!

Here Goes:

1. Take off the plastic on the pickguard yes or no?

2. The silver "paint" on the trem block is chipped off in the corner. Should I use touchup paint to prevent corrosion or does the paint just wear off over time?

3. Can I just leave the tremolo bar installed when I put it away in the case? I heard the sticker is there so that some spring doesn't fall out.

Thanks guys. I just want to get started right because this was a lifetime investment for me on my budget.

Duluth, MN. Birthplace of Bobby Zimmerman

Re: New EJ Strat Questions

1. yes

2. no (I wouldn't touch it up)

3. many people are able to leave the arm attached (just point it downward) when putting the guitar in its case.
    That sticker is placed there to keep a small spring from falling out. But, some very credible folks (Callaham, for example) advise against keeping that spring in there to begin with as it can cause the threads to strip.

4. congrats on your purchase and welcome to the forum!!
    "If you're cool, you don't know nothin' about it. It just is...or you ain't." - Keith Richards

Forum Member

Silver paint on the trem block? The EJ model has an unpainted trem block. If your trem block is painted, either someone replaced the original, or it isn't an EJ. Take a look at the string holes in the trem block, where you insert the string, when you are restringing. Does the ball end of the string disappear, completely, into the recessed string hole, or is the recess just deep enough to accommodate the ball end of the string? If the block is an EJ block, not only is it not painted, but the recess of the string hole should only be deep enough to accommodate the ball end of the string.

Forum Member