Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Behringer Tube Overdrive TO800 & Ibanez TS808

Forum Member

Behringer Tube Overdrive TO800 & Ibanez TS808

I heard a rumor that Behringer was being sued by Ibanez because they copied the infamous TS808 part by part? They are still availabe and seem pretty attractive at a street price of $25 vs. $175.

Any input?

fezz parka

Re: Behringer Tube Overdrive TO800 & Ibanez TS808

The word is Behringer reverse engineers everything they make. That being said, 25 bucks is pretty cheap for a stomp box.

As a manufacturer, you can save a lot of money by not having to design from the ground up.

The rumour I heard, true or false, was that Behringer was asked by Roland/Boss's legal team not to release the pedals. I'm guessing because of trade dress issues. We'll see if anything comes of that.

behringer SUCKS! end sentence, period.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

Forum Member

Dude do they totally suck? huh huh huh?

I realize they do not have the build quality as the 808, however for a basement player/jammer that does not transport gear in a duffle bag every night, it might be a bargain.

There is a market for everything.

fezz parka

Like I said above, for 25 bucks it's a cheap alternative.

As far as there being a market for everything, yeah you're right.

fezz parka

Here's a better alternative: Arion Tubulator

There's bad mojo with Behringer stuff. That, and I believe this uses the same chip as the 808...

Quote Originally Posted by fezz parka
    Here's a better alternative: Arion Tubulator

There's bad mojo with Behringer stuff. That, and I believe this uses the same chip as the 808...
    I've got three of them, and yes, they use the same JRC chip.. SEE..

If course I have that great new TS9DX chucko gave me...
    The Best Guitar Photos On The Net!
    Photoweborama

I dunno, guys. I'm torn on this. Stealing somebody else's intellectual property is just plain illegal and morally wrong.