Thread: The Bakersfield Sound

The Bakersfield Sound

So seeing as I'm new to Country music, what exactly is the Bakersfield sound? Sorry to sound like a real but country music still kind of all sounds the same to me.

Gravity Jim

Re: The Bakersfield Sound

When I read the term, "Bakersfield sound" refers to the smooth, popp-y electric country that the California guys were cooking. Little or no fiddle, plenty of Tele snap 'n' twang, New Grass vocal harmonies on the choruses, delivered with a high-precision sheen, pop music with a Nashville drawl. Buck Owens and the Buckaroos were the epitome of Bakersfield, as were country hits like "Heartaches By The Number." Dwight Yoakam, too, to my ear.

Am I right or am I right? Right?

Might want to add The Derailers to that list. At least to my ear, they sound like that. Dwight Yoakam, definitely.

"I'm gonna find myself a girl
    that can show me what laughter means
    And we'll fill in the missing colors
    In each other's paint-by-number dreams..."

Gravity Jim

Oh, absolutely, Rickenjangle; The Derailers are definitely carryin' a torch for the Buckaroos. I love that stuff, m'self. I fell out the first time I heard Yoakam, and I dig him to pieces.

Because pop music is radically affected by the available tech, I believe the Bakersfield sound was a direct result of the creation of the Telecaster, the Fender Twin and Leo's pedal steels, and it happened in California because that's where Fender was cruising the dance halls giving away guitars.

Thanks fellas. As luck would have it, I am a Derailers fan (got 2 of their CDs).:) The band that I have been playing with the last month or so plays a little country and asked me to learn 2 Dwight songs (fun stuff!). So I guess I liked The Bakersfield Sound stuff the whole time and didn't even know it!

:)