Thread: Touring the facilities (or-what to look for in a studio?)

Touring the facilities (or-what to look for in a studio?)

we're checking out a local studio tomorrow in preparation for recording our debut full leangth album. any advice on things to look for, questions to ask, etc would be greatly appreciated.

tomorrow's just a general get to know eachother kinda thang, see if the guy's compatible, has the wherewithall to do what we envision. i figure we'll get down to brass tacks after that, assuming tomorrow goes well.

Re: Touring the facilities (or-what to look for in a studio?)

listen to spose, and then listen to things the studio has recorded. gear, mics, and the lot don't really amount to much if the people don't know how to use them. remember that saying about if you gave jimi a squier and a crate amp...well, the same holds true (pretty much) in the audio recording world.
    "don't worry, i'm a professional!"

First off, I look to see the studio is neat, clean and organized. If I see DATs and CDs laying around without labels and unorganized, forget it.

Then I ask about the work process the engineer follows and determine whether is is compatable with the project.

Ask if he can add effects in edit. Very important. It allows you to play a solo or rythym part dry and then experiment with different effects while listening instead of playing and is the equivalent of recording 10 solos at once.

References is a no brainer.

Finally, while mike placement and settign levels isn't all that hard, post production is everything. Nearly anybody with ears can do a decent mix, but there are very few that I've found that can master. The mastering process is the real key to a professional sounding recording, and will determine how you sound when played on your customer's car stereo or home system. It might sound great through those expensive flat responce studio monitors, but will it sound good coming out of the average car stereo speaker?