Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SRV tone

Forum Member

SRV tone

Hes been my hero since I started playing. Im just now getting the conficence to attempt to learm Pride and Joy. I know his strings were incredibly thick for most players to play. I cant get his tone using 10s. I sound to twangy. Were the thick strings what gave him his tone or is there more to it than that. I was also taught to control my picking and SRV just sawed away at the strings. I have trouble playing like that. Were these the secrets to the SRV tone??

Re: SRV tone

Consider two things here. (1) If it doesn't come naturally to you, then perhaps you are overlooking your own strengths in other areas of your playing. After playing for 30 years, I realize that although I am totally blown away by certain players, I will never be able to play like them or sound like them. That used to bum me out. But after some time, "I" began to emerge as a player with his own style and tone. I feel I have something to offer as a player because I don't sound like other guys. I sound like me. And personally, I find it much more rewarding to hear someone say, "Wow man, you have a cool, unique style", instead of being told "dude you sound just like SRV."

(2) If you want to capture the vibe of a song, then go ahead and do it as best you can with the equipment you have and are comfortable with. Once you have done the "due dilligence" of copping the style and groove of the song, then expand on it and make it your own. Is it really that important to sound like someone else to the extent that have to suffer playing much heavier strings than you like, and amps that don't really suit you?

I'm just trying to offer a different perspective here. Others will tag on to this thread I'm sure, with links to websites that show SRV's entire set-up down to the last detail. And while it's cool to cop someone elses vibe, we often do it at the expense of our own. Rock on man!
    If you're bored, you're not groovin'.

Forum Member