Thread: Scales, Who needs them?

Re: Scales, Who needs them?

I need them.

If only to force me to think outside of my boxes.
    Several guitars in different colors
    Things to make them fuzzy
    Things to make them louder
    orange picks

Thanks, Nick :yay
    It makes my head hurt to think about that stuff.
    I started playing (on a serious level) relatively late (25 yrs old) and began playing semi-pro a couple years later and was even lucky enough to make a living playing clubs......not much of a living, but enough that I'd quit any real job to play. Anyway, I spent my practice time learning (half-assed learning at best) the songs I needed for gigs. No time for scales. So I struggled along.
    Here I am 25+ years down the road, and I still haven't learned scales.

....but I'm puttin' in more of an effort now. :wail2
    If you leave the house, you're just asking for it.

south of something, north of somewhere, west of over there and just to the east of where I left my sanity. Right where I wanna be. Chunga chunga it's the sland!

Scales, Who needs them?

Fish, mainly, and lizards, oh and snakes, and people who sell things by weight, dieticians.

Some musicians, though I find if I think in scales I get all these pretty little shapes but pretty little music. Scales are a learning tool, but for me, one that should be put aside when performing.

Forum Member

This says it too, and in a lot fewer words.

I need scales - I'm a bass player. I use portions of scales all the time to announce to the listening public that a new and exciting change is about to occur in the song we happen to be playing!

I didn't read the link (it's too late for print so small), but I can't play lead, and to a lesser extent rhythm, without scales. Granted, I can see the major-scale derived modes sitting atop each other, along with the major and minor pentatonics and some favorite chromatic series. All the notes in an octave are covered a few times, but its about feel and emphasis.