Thread: What's the best tone capacitor value/material for a Strat?............

What's the best tone capacitor value/material for a Strat?............

I'm trying to decide which kind of capacitor to put in the strat I'm building.......... Foil in oil, polypropylene (did I spell that right?), etc...

I like .022 but I'm also interested in using .015, although I have no experience with that value.

Any help would be appreciated..........Thanks!

Forum Member

Here's fun

Unsolder the current cap from your tone pot and solder on a couple of 12" leads with alligator clips. Put your pickguard on with these hanging out. then, get a bunch of caps and demo them while really playing.

I did this and found I really dig Mallory 150's. I have a .01 on the neck/middle pot and a .022 on the bridge humbucker.

Forum Member
    My favorite by far are poly .01 caps. They don't roll off a lot of high end, but they make the tone knob much more usable for me. At the lowest point of the rotation, they have an almost hollowbody with P-90s thing going on, and they're great for precisely dialing out the high-end crispiness.

M
    www.monstermikewelch.com

Forum Member

I'm not in a cult.

I have to mention this because elsewhere, I have been slammed hard as some sort of paid hype-man. Well, be it known that I just think that this is a good resource...plain and simple. (Nothing personal to anyone here, I'm just new to these parts and wouldn't want any confusion.) With that said, Chris Kinman offers some pretty great pickups, but also some rather helpful commentary on this and other matters. I would highly recommend his treble by-pass filter setup as well, which I believe is included in his pickups these days.

http://www.kinman.com/html/toneWorks...fectGuitar.htm

Happy reading!!

Thanks for the input guys.......I already decided on a .022 Sprague Orange Drop for my guitar.

Registered